Student journalists receive mark of excellence

Hard work and dedication are the main reasons why the Region 9 Mark of Excellence Conference in Salt Lake City greeted the students of MSU Denver with just desserts of 20 awards: eight winners and 12 other finalists.


Metrosphere, Met TV and The Metropolitan won bragging rights on top of several awards on March 24 in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the Society of Professional Journalists Region 9 annual conference. Clockwise, from top left, Jhocelyn Avendaño, Deanna Hirsch, Miranda McHodgkins, Victoria Edstedt, Dayna Himot and Andrea Herrera. Photo by Dayna Himot •

Metrosphere took the award for best student magazine. Metrosphere photographer Brandon Sanchez won the award for best feature photography. Victoria Edstedt and Dayna Himot were finalists in the nonfiction article category.

MSU Denver’s Spanish newscast, Noticiero TVMET, was awarded best all-around television newscast for their broadcast on Nov. 18, 2016. Their sister show, Met Report, took home a finalist prize for the same award for their broadcast on Nov. 4, 2016.

Several members of Met TV were winners in their categories: Jhocelyn Avendaño for best feature reporting, Miranda McHodgkins for best in-depth reporting and John Madden for best sports photography. Met TV staff members were awarded finalist prizes as well: Melanie Townsend for breaking news reporting, Josh Cozart for feature reporting, Ashley Craven for general news reporting, Andrea Herrera for in-depth reporting and Anthony Rodriguez for sports photography.

The Metropolitan won best use of multimedia for content produced by Mary-Kate Newton and Alyson McClaran. Abreham Gebreegziabher won the award for best general news photography and was a finalist for sports photography. Michael Ortiz was a finalist for general news photography and McClaran received two finalist awards in feature photography.

It is safe to say that the SPJ Region 9 Mark of Excellence conference was a success and that 2016 was by far the year with the most nominations and awards for Met Media.

First-place winners will go on to compete at the national level among other regional MOE winners from the 11 other regions. The national winners will be recognized at the Excellence in Journalism conference in Anaheim, California.

According to the SPJ, MOE entries are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience, who are directed to choose entries they think are among the best in student journalism. If there was no entry in a category that rose above the others, no award was given.

Author: Madison Lauterbach

Madison Lauterbach is a junior at MSU Denver majoring in convergent Journalism and minoring in Political Science. She has served as the news editor for The Metropolitan since February 2017. You can follow her on Twitter @milauter1.

Leave a Reply